.

12-12-12 Concert to Benefit Hurricane Sandy Victims

Some of the biggest names in music will play at a benefit concert on Wednesday. All proceeds will go to Hurricane Sandy victims, via the Robin Hood Foundation. Find out how to help and where you can watch or listen in the Chicago area.

Huge names in music are lending their talents to Hurricane Sandy relief efforts at the “12-12-12” concert Wednesday.

Every penny sold from ticket sales will go directly to Sandy victims through the Robin Hood Relief Fund, which provides material, money and aid to local organizations that are serving families and individuals in the regions hardest hit by the storm, including more than 200 Patch towns in New Jersey, Connecticut and Long Island.

The all-star lineup includes Bon Jovi, Eric Clapton, Dave Grohl, Billy Joel, Alicia Keys, Chris Martin, Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band, Eddie Vedder, Roger Waters, Kanye West, The Who and Paul McCartney, with other artists to be announced.

According to the 12-12-12 concert’s website, starting at 6:30 p.m. central time Wednesday, "The Concert for Sandy Relief, will be broadcast live from Madison Square Garden via a global network of US and International television stations, Clear Channel radio stations and leading web sites. Check the listings on the website to see where you can watch locally.”

In the Chicago area, the concert will be broadcast live on The Holiday Lite radio station, 93.9 FM, as well as dozens of TV stations, including AMC, Encore, FX Movie Channel, HBO and Palladia.

You can also donate to the American Red Cross, Long Island Cares and Island Harvest.

Also, please join Patch's effort to raise awareness and funds for those living in Patch communities affected by Sandy: Patch Rebuilds, Patch’s effort to help support devastated communities after the storm, will donate $1 to the AmeriCares Hurricane Sandy Disaster Relief Fund for every tweet sent with the hashtag #PatchRebuilds (up to $125,000).

Your contribution will go toward medical and humanitarian aid, grants and programs to help Sandy survivors.

You can simply tweet the hashtag #PatchRebuilds, or go to our Patch Rebuilds websiterebuilds.patch.com, and tweet directly from the site.

For more information on the concert, visit www.121212concert.org.

NotBuyingIt December 15, 2012 at 01:55 AM
Emily, I'm judging you now... My problem, and only problem, with you was that you tried to shut down someone from expressing their opinion by throwing a little bible quote out there. This forum is for opinion and comments and judgements, okay?? Just because you are some sort of superfan of whoever was in the show and didn't care for someone's opinion, you tried to stifle it. "Don't judge lest ye be judged" C'mon, get over yourself and quit trying to shut down opposing opinions. You are a hypocrite as well. There, you have been judged.
NotBuyingIt December 15, 2012 at 02:01 AM
oh, and just to clarify, I never complained about the show or the performers... I only complained about you trying to shut down opinions that differ from yours by using a stupid bible quote. judged again.
Emily December 15, 2012 at 02:18 AM
Actually, I am not a super fan of anyone that was in the show. Pointing out that it was most likely great, is common knowledge. 6 hours of artists who individually sell out venues at no cost is pretty great. I didn't try to stifle anyone. They pointed out that one single person gave no money and received millions when in fact, they have no proof of that since they are not personally involved with them. Being judged by a person like yourself brings joy to my heart. Considering you are taking time out of your day to think of me makes me all warm inside. Judge away, I don't believe in the Bible or any religion so to me, I just quoted literature. Just as I would any work of fiction.
NotBuyingIt December 15, 2012 at 05:01 AM
Emily, I'm glad to have warmed your insides.... Knowing that made me a little warm inside too!! ;) Let me know if you ever wanna do that again!! :)
Mickey December 19, 2012 at 04:00 PM
Old fart up there assumes I'm a rich socialist. Isn't that what lady gaga & Madonna are? Old age there speaking out of both sides of his mouth. Besides i don't hate anyone. Old age should lay off the crack. & smoke a little more weed

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »